Bacchus

Castle Brewery Van Honsebrouck

Bacchus Raspberry Beer

9th October 2016 – Review by Andy

I got a bit lucky this week, the previous week I had missed BeerClub as we arrived back from our holiday too late to make it in time. However my Dad and Rob, instead of drinking my beer had saved it for me – I’m not sure had I been in their shoes I’d have done the same!

The beer in question, was not my usual tipple, it was a Bacchus Raspberry flavoured beer.

THE TASTE

The first thing that strikes you about it is the bottle, it is wrapped in paper with a very cool, contemporary design. The details on the back are in various different languages but none of which I can read so I can’t tell you what it is meant to taste like.
However a look on their website tells you:

This frambozenbier, or raspberry beer, is brewed using Bacchus Oud Bruin which sets it apart from most raspberry beers that are based on lambic or geuze. The standout characteristic of this beer is its beautiful balance between sour and sweet with aromas of very sweet raspberries, malt and earthy yeast. Bacchus Frambozenbier is mild and slightly sour with hints of balsamic vinegar. It sparkles on the tongue and has plenty of body. The roast malt contributes a slight touch of caramel. The finish is dominated by sweet raspberries and a mild sourness.

So what did I make of it? With these flavoured beers I have always found the taste to be a little too manufactured for my liking, however this was different.

The raspberry flavour was absolutely fantastic, it really does taste just like you are drinking a raspberry smoothie, there isn’t really much of a beer flavour to it, although you do get some of the alcohol coming through.

THE VERDICT

Considering flavoured beers are not really my cup of tea, I actually thoroughly enjoyed this Bacchus beer, it surprised me just how good it was. I don’t think it is one I could drink all night, one was enough for me, but I will happily try it again in the future.

I would score Bacchus Raspberry Beer a very fruity 7 out of 10.

www.vanhonsebrouck.be

Instagram: @vanhonsebrouck

Twitter: @Van_Honsebrouck

Leave a Reply

