Spitfire

Shepherd Neame

Spitfire

9th October 2016 – Review by Andy

My Dad’s choice this week for BeerClub is a classic from Shepherd Neame – Spitfire. My first impression was meh, Spitfire isn’t anything new and a beer I’ve tried on numerous occasions before. However on closer inspection I’d forgotten how good Spitfire actually is…

THE TASTE

The Spitfire packaging is very patriotic, with the Union Jack flag emblazoned across the bottle and the name Spitfire inspired by the Supermarine Spitfire, a British single-seat fighter aircraft used by the RAF and other Allied countries before, during and after World War II.

A look on the reverse of the bottle tells us “This 4.5% Kentish Ale was first brewed in 1990 to celebrate The Battle of Britain which was fought in the skies above Kent 50 years earlier.”

The colour of the beer is a nice ruby with a decent sized head, when poured it looks just about how the perfect pint should do.

Then there is the taste, it is very smooth and goes down so well, leaving a lovely aftertaste of subtle flavours. It is a beer that personally I could drink all day or night, and at 4.5% I feel it is perfect for a prolonged session in the pub or at home.

THE VERDICT

To sum up Shepherd Neame’s Spitfire… if I was told I could only drink one beer for the rest of my life and that beer was Spitfire – I would be perfectly happy with that. A drink for all occasions and one that ticks all the boxes, a Great British-brewed success story.

I would score Spitifire a very smooth 8 out of 10.

 

www.shepherdneame.co.uk

Instagram: @shepherdneame

Twitter: @ShepherdNeame

Leave a Reply

