S.A. BRAIN – REV JAMES GOLD

S.A. BRAIN & CO LTD.

THE REV. JAMES GOLD

9th November 2016 – Review by Andy

The Rev. James Gold was added to the range in 2015 and brewed in the same style as its original counterpart. It is a crisp, sweet golden ale with fresh fruit flavours that are balanced by an intriguing depth and light malty aroma.

This this was a beer I’ve been really looking forward to trying after previously trying the Rev James Original, although I did enjoy that, it wasn’t quite for me.

THE TASTE

I like my beers on the light side, so the description of ‘Crisp, sweet Ale with surprising body and depth’ sounded right up my street.

The colour is definitely on the amber side, looks fantastic, decent size head and looks a perfect pint. A bit fruity to the taste, with a bitter aftertaste.

THE VERDICT

For me, this ticks the boxes, not too sweet and sickly, and a decent depth to the flavour, before I knew it the pint has gone which says a lot.

When I get a chance to try this again, I will definitely be shouting ‘hell yeah’ 🙏🏻

www.sabrain.com

Twitter: @TheRevTweets

Leave a Reply

